eBike/eScooter Guidelines

  • We appreciate the convenience and freedom of cycling and scootering and highly encourage riding peddled bikes and push scooters to and from school. These are excellent ways to get the physical activity needed for healthy minds, reduce traffic congestion around schools, and improve the environment.

    However, since it is illegal for people under 16 to operate Electric Assisted Bicycles (e-Bikes) and Electric or Gas-powered scooters (e-scooters), and all our elementary and middle school students are underage, Lake Oswego School District (LOSD) will not allow students to bring (ride or walk) e-bikes or e-scooters onto our elementary and middle school campuses. Many high school students are legally allowed to ride e-bikes and e-scooters, and school personnel cannot monitor the different ages of high school students with fidelity during drop-off and pick-up time, so high school students may bring e-bikes and e-scooters onto our high school campuses. We will continue enforcing school, city, and state safety rules on our campuses.

    If a student brings an e-bike or e-scooter to elementary or middle school, our school staff will immediately contact their parents/guardians to pick up the bike or scooter. We cannot allow underage students to operate (ride or walk) an e-bike or e-scooter onto campus, nor can we knowingly enable them to ride it home since it's against the law.

    LOSD and the City of Lake Oswego uphold regulations to protect our community's safety and harmony. Lake Oswego Police officers are conducting regular patrols, focusing on areas with high e-bike and e-scooter traffic. The State of Oregon e-bike and e-scooter regulations are listed below. 

    More About E-Bikes

    An e-bike has fully operative pedals for human propulsion and an electric motor with a power output of not more than 1,000 watts. To be considered an e-bike, it must also not be capable of going faster than 20 mph on level ground without assistance (i.e., pedaling). If it can go faster than 20 mph or has a motor with a power output of more than 1,000 watts, then it is considered a moped and would require an Oregon Driver's License to operate it.

    Gas scooters have a maximum displacement of 35cc, and electric scooters have a maximum output of 1000 watts. An electric or gas scooter has a maximum capable speed of 24 mph on level ground, but the maximum allowed speed is 15 mph. 

    Here are some basic rules for e-bikes and e-scooters:

    • You must be at least 16 years old to operate.

    • A helmet is not required for anyone over 16 operating an e-bike (but is recommended). 

    • A helmet is required for anyone operating an e-scooter

    • You must have approved lighting under limited visibility.

    • They are NEVER allowed on sidewalks (ORS 814.410).

    • Riders MUST use a bike lane if one is adjacent to or near a roadway (ORS 814.420).

    • They are allowed on bike paths and crosswalks.

    Find more information before operating an e-bike in ORS 814.400 Application of vehicle laws to bicycles, ORS 814.486 Endangering bicycle operator or passenger, and LOC 32.10.810 Requirements for Operation of Bicycles Generally.


    Oregon Moped, Motorized Scooter, Pocket Bike Guide